A New Coat of Paint

A house they must paint

Or else be trapped here forevermore

And be stuck in this sorry straight

So work they will till their arms tire sore

 

Fending off wasps and biting bugs

They continue on their dire quest

To make pretty the drapes and rugs

Never stopping for food or rest

 

The sun beating harshly down

And their finger’s worn to the bone

Trying to paint the house brown

All so that may return their true home

 

A silly and slightly exaggerated ballad of the trials we are facing trying to prep the house for sale. On the plus side there are already two interested parties and we haven’t even put the thing on the market yet! I was planning a much more interesting post tonight, but I’m dead tired so this is going to have to double as my post for the night and my submission for NaPoWriMo, it’s kind of a ballad.

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on April 26, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. ROFLMAO!!!! You told me about painting the house but I like this “ballad” better! I can just picture angry you swatting at the wasp and biting at the bugs as you slap that paint on the house!!!! Sorry :-/ I’m not laughting AT you, I’m laughing WITH you. ahahahhahhahhhhaaaa

    • SURE you are, I know you would NEVER find amusement in my trials… ;). Actually I spent a decent portion of that day saving a wasp’s nest, rather than swatting at them, but I decided to take creative licence with it.

      • Saving a wasp nest? OMG! You’re KILLING me! Who saves a wasp nest???? I’m so allergic it would kill me with one sting and YOU save the whole nest? I mean you did it because you love wasps? ROFLMAO

    • Two actually ;), though they were both small. I don’t love wasps per se, I just respect life, no matter what form it comes in and I have an over-developed sense of empathy. If there’s a way to avoid killing I prefer to do so and since hope felt the same that’s what we did.

      • Awwww. I remember being that way when I was little. I still try to avoid stepping on an ant or another bug. Wasps are different to me because they can kill me. lol

      • A life is a life no matter how small… or how dangerous. Believing in reincarnation adds another layer to that though, maybe I was a wasp at one point, or will be in the future, may as well build up good karma just in case ;). I sent you an email reply, did you get it?

  2. I like it , it is real.

Leave a Reply

