Broken Promises

Broken promises

Are yours to keep

Though it’s my heart

That gets to bleed

 

It hurts more than I can say

More than tears can heal

Every time you turn away

And I step back, unsure

 

I’ve always been there

Done all I could

What more is there, what else can I do?

To be worthy of your care

 

It means nothing to you

That is plain to see

You don’t understand

What it means to me

 

I’ve always been alone

Had to fight my own battles

I thought a friend would change all that

But maybe I’m just dreaming

 

I’ll always be second

My needs not important by half

As his wants

I can read between the lines, I can do the math

 

You don’t understand

What it means to me

That after all this time,

I still must stand alone

 

For Hope, though I love her deeply, who needs to learn to stop making promises she can’t keep.

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on April 23, 2013, in In the Pack, Wolfsong and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Nice words i really know the meaning.
    Really like it..

Leave a Reply

