Alone

It’s quiet here

And dark

There are creatures

Lurking in the shadows

But I have no fear

For the most part

If I leave them be

They’ll do the same

Sometimes they’ll lash out

Drawing blood and tasting my pain

It hurts

But never lethal

I know how to defend myself

When that no longer rings true

They’ll have my soul

I know it

And so do they

But that’s a long way off

I can hold out for another day

Then one more and another

After that, well…

I am a shadow amongst a bright world

They’ll hardly notice when I’m no longer here

A sequel or antithesis to Friendship Reborn.

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on April 19, 2013, in In the Pack, NaPoWriMo, Wolfsong and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Love this one!

  2. alone in the shadows… shivers!! xx

Leave a Reply

