Haunted

Built of stone and greed

A temple filled with hope and need

Sorrow’s tears streaking down pale skin

Brought on by terrible sin

 

Fear like an arrow

Striking faster than the wings of a sparrow

Stillness, quivering waiting for the blow

A frozen moment, steeped in woe

 

Desolate this hollow place

Never has it know a moment’s grace

Fragile bones fall upon the stone

Scarlet drops dripping on the tome

 

Silence now, an echo of violence long gone

But forever present, forever remembered

In the quickened beating of the heart

And the momentary chill down the spine

 

                Sometimes I just write whatever comes to mind. This is one of those times. I analyze a lot, sometimes it seems that I never stop thinking, but every now and then I don’t. Every once in a while I like my words to be a mystery even to me. I wrote this, and there was a picture in my mind as I did so, but I don’t know why these words came to me or what the context of this story is. I don’t know what this poem means to me and I’m going to let it remain an enigma, at least for a while.

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on April 18, 2013, in Midnight Ramblings, Wolfsong and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

