My Love/Hate Relationship

I am deeply entrenched in a love/hate relationship right now. The other party frequently lies, cheats, and probably steals on occasion too. We’ve been working on our differences of opinions for years now (well I have, they don’t seem too interested in my opinions), but so far it hasn’t amounted to much. The other party just isn’t willing to compromise on… well much of anything really. It’s really disheartening at times and I’ll leave telling them I need a break, but I always go back in the end. What can I say? The good times are really good and really I’ve learned a lot through in those times when we get along. Oh, you want to know who this other party is? Didn’t I mention that? Oops, well of course the name of this unscrupulous character is Science.

                Science and I have been at odds for some time, which is what led to my ultimate decision not to follow a career path in science, but there are times when I remember how much I love it. Questioning everything, seeking answers to the world’s greatest mysteries of the world, looking for ways to improve life for all living things, surely there isn’t a nobler pursuit in all the world. Except, of course, when said pursuit become corrupted with arrogance and greed. Then it becomes one of the greater evils of our world.

                I was briefly reacquainted with my love while doing a persuasive speech on evolution vs. creationism/intelligent design. Of all things that have come out of science the concept of evolution is probably nearest and dearest to my heart. It’s one of the key building stone for my entire perspective of the world. I first heard of it and it fit, the world became sharper, clearer and I understood. It was a magical moment (probably sacrilegious of me to use the words science and magic in the same post isn’t it?) for me. Most of you know by now that I’m a deeply spiritual person, do I think there was a guiding force behind it all, yes, but I think the concepts of evolution holds true. Doing the research refreshed that old passion.

                It also reminded me why I no longer involve myself in such things, people get really, really nasty with it. It has nothing to do with rational, open-minded discussions, and everything to do with slander and mudslinging from both sides. People seem to be really insulted by the idea that we descended from apes and I don’t understand why. The idea that all life is connected in such a deep, intimate way is beautiful to me. One of the arguments I heard was that it striped away the dignity of humanity. I don’t see it that way. All it means to me is that we have a bigger family than we ever could have realized and it means that the world is magnificently complex. Learning of this theory made me feel less alone.

                I believe that science is a religion. It is a system of perceiving and interpreting the world and its patterns. Just because it does not allow for “supernatural” explanations for phenomena doesn’t make it any less of a religion. Science doesn’t deal in absolute fact it takes what is known and observable and explains it the best of its ability at the time (the non-corrupt version does this anyway). Black and white thinking is a logical fallacy, saying that the only reality is a scientific one and that anything not proven by science isn’t real, is a logical fallacy. I think that if people tried to remember this, the world be a better and healthier place.

 

I’m going to burned at the stake for this one, I just know it.

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on April 17, 2013, in Natural Laws and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Evolution, science, religion – what a mix and you’re right, Jessica – it is so very difficult to have rational sit-down discussions.

    • It’s certainly a heady combination… and nearly guaranteed to get your head bitten off if you speak it too loudly. It’s really unfortunate because I love discussing this stuff.

  2. Amen and may the force be with you!

Leave a Reply

