Dragon Born

A shiver

And a shake

Trembling, twisting, turning

Pushing against enclosed bonds

Snap! Crack!

Freedom as the world gives way

And a small twisty creature lies wet and quivering

Amongst a bed of gold coins and copper scales

A yellow serpent’s eye stares down

From way up high

As far away as the sky

And the little creature, all tail and neck

Emits a questioning peep

The mass creature rumbles a reply

A growling purr

That sets the earth to quaking and the coins clanking

The giant head dips down

To nuzzle soft, barely-formed scales

Hello, my love, she whispers

Welcome to the world.

No structure, no rhyme, no rhythm, this one was purely free-form  I thought it was a good day to play with adjectives and since the prompt for NaPoWriMo was to write a greeting, it occurred to me that the egg from Dragon Mother was just about ready to hatch :).

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on April 17, 2013, in Midnight Ramblings, NaPoWriMo, Wolfsong and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Yes, welcome to the World little one…Love this, the subject of Dragons really blows my mind… which is why I started writing stories about Fyrespike… xx

    • I don’t know what it is about dragons, but even just the thought of them seems to inspire grand tales and adventures. Magical creatures, they are. I’ll have to check out your stories once the madness of finals is over.

  2. Truly beautiful Jessica beautiful!

  3. Hello again Jessica Please accept the the Three Award Nomination information at http://willowdot21.wordpress.com/2013/04/17/three-award-nominations/ with love willowdot21.

    • All three! Dang Willow, way to make my head explode. I am, of course, honored and thrilled to accept, but it’s going to take me awhile to write it up. Finals insanity, you know. Almost done. Thanks for giving me something to boost my energy in these last couple of weeks.

  4. Wow! You’re REALLY good Jessica! I don’t get into dragons much but I really felt this one, especially with your term “little one”. I guess, dragon or not, a mother can relate to that kind of love. I’m impressed with you girl!

    This reminds me of Game of Thrones because of the dragon babies. I DO love Game of Thrones. Do you watch, by any chance?

    • Anything to spread the love of dragons, it’s invasive you know. First you just read a dragon poem or watch a show with a dragon in it and the next thing you know you’re going on flights of fancy atop dragon-back. 🙂
      I’m glad you liked it, it’s always interesting to me when someone says they connect to certain aspects of my poem that, while intended, aren’t things I actually have any experience with. I’m not a mother, so it seems strange to me that I can write a poem that an actual mother connects to. I’m not trying to boast, it’s just one of the things that strikes me when people comment.
      Dragons and dire wolves, medieval times and convoluted court politics. Yeah, as if there’s any way I’m not all over that! I’ve only seen the first season though and I loved it, but all we have is Netflix so I haven’t had a chance to see the second season.

      • OMG! You make me literally laugh out loud! I did pick up that you weren’t a mother recognized that yes you did know how to touch people even though you weren’t able to really relate. You DO have a gift.

        As for the dragons… I read this really good book about a dragon slayer. Does that count? It was a psychology book though. lmao

    • You are entirely too kind, but writing is what I love to do and writing this blog has definitely boosted my confidence. I really think I want to make a career out of it now.

      No dragon slayers don’t count. Shh, you’ll give the little fellow nightmares. Wait a minute. Did you say psychology book? As in non-fiction? About dragon-slayers? Title, author, and where I can buy it, if you please. 😉

    • Thank you! It worked and I will definitely be checking these guys out :).

      • I think you’ll love them. They’re written like a childs fairy tale… but I already told you that. I’m not into children’s fairy tales but sometimes you need to read things written simply, you know? Hope you like them!

Leave a Reply

