Toxic

The prompt for NaPoWriMo was to write what you would never say to someone, in poetic form of course:

 

You are thoughtlessly cruel

Blind to any suffering

Beyond your own

 

The world revolves around

Your thoughts and actions

It would never occur to you

To try on someone else’s point of view

 

You love, I know that

But your love is deeply broken

And you don’t care to be healed

 

Why can’t you do as you preach?

Put your words to actions?

Yet you expect to reap what you don’t sow

 

You presume upon a relationship

That doesn’t exist

The blood runs true

But there is little common ground between me and you

 

I love you

And I think you were once a good man

But life broke you and you’ve become toxic

 

This is for my father, may he one day know peace.

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on April 12, 2013, in In the Pack, NaPoWriMo, Wolfsong and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Ooooh, that last line – quite sad, really.

  2. Funny how a lot of us girls have issues with our dads. Mine aren’t like yours, but I think many of us can relate.

  3. I wish him peace too. His life sounds grave.

  4. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    How lovely this to your father. You know, to wish someone peace I think is just about the greatest thing you can wish for them. Peace. We so each and every one of us, need peace.

  5. Fantastic, I bet you felt better for writing that. My entry certainly helped me . Great post! xxx

Leave a Reply

