Dream

Today’s prompt for NaPoWriMo was to write a Tanka, which involves a pattern of syllables going 5-7-5-7-7. I’ve told you all that I hate counting syllables, and I do, but I’ve decided to give it a shot anyway. It’s a good workout to try different things so here I go:

In the night I saw

Mountains high above the sky

And caves deep and raw

A peaceful and secret place

Far away from this rat race

I have very little experience with this type of poetry so I would really appreciate in feedback on the formatting that I can get it. I think I did it right, but I’m not completely sure. Either way I hope you all enjoy this little piece.

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on April 11, 2013, in NaPoWriMo, Wolfsong and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’m not into Tanka but did enjoy this.Beautiful 🙂

  2. I don’t have experience with poetry, but I enjoyed this. Shouldn’t that be the most important thing?

    • Absolutely, and it is. But I haven’t counted syllables since high school, I was just curious if I was remembering it right. I enjoy learning new things, or in this case relearning old things 🙂

  1. Pingback: Closing in with Tankas | Two Voices, One Song

Leave a Reply

