Seeking Vengance

Alright, time for my NaPoWriMo entry for the day. The prompt is to write a poem in ottava rima, however I have a confession to make: I have always really hated counting syllables and everything else that comes with it, it drives me up the wall. Therefore, I am not going to be using the iambic pentameter, but I will be using the rhyme scheme.

 

A man stood before the storm

Sword out and feet braced against the wind

Glaring a challenge at the form

Of the being that took his kin

Swooping down with a furious roar

Begins a battle of blood and gore

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on April 8, 2013, in Midnight Ramblings, NaPoWriMo, Wolfsong and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Loved the poem. Write some more.

  2. Sweeping his gaze beyond the shore
    He stands firm against those no more
    At his feet the consequence of war
    His showdow blends with the crimson flows
    His heart beat flows as his life-force swells
    With his final tide ensuring his line will never die

    Loved your poem – thought I would keep it going

  3. Hey! I understand this is sort of off-topic however I had to
    ask. Does operating a well-established website like yours take a lot of work?
    I am brand new to running a blog but I do write in my journal daily.
    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my personal experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

    • I think I’m flattered, but I’m not sure I count as being well-established, this blog isn’t even a full month old. Does posting everyday take a lot of work? Yes, absolutely yes. I write these post just before I go to bed and I can’t tell you how much it has cut into my sleep. I tend to get carried away and write a lot of long posts. There’s other work too, following, reading, liking, and commenting on other blogs is all a really important part of promoting my blog and gaining followers of my own. It’s also a real pleasure to get to know my fellow bloggers, I’m really starting to feel like I’m part of a community here. There’s also the additional work of responding to comments, nominating other blogs for awards, and participating in things like NaPoWriMo and Bloggers for Peace. Not forgetting sight maintenance, but once that’s set up, it doesn’t take much and the set up for Word Press is pretty user-friendly.
      I can honestly tell you that I was shocked by the amount of stress writing everyday has added to my life. It’s a good kind of stress, one I greatly enjoy, but it’s still stress. Time management has become a very delicate affair. I was also shocked by how fulfilling this blog is for me now. For the first time in my life I really feel like I’m doing something truly meaningful. I was debating whether or not I wanted to go into a writing career before I started this blog. Now I have no doubts. This is the right path for me. I don’t know how much work or stress you’ll find blogging to be, since you write in your journal everyday, it might be less of a shock to you than it was for me, but I think it’s different for everyone.
      At the time I’m writing this I have 61 followers, I am very happy with that number, but I’m a long, long way off from being even close to the most successful blogger out there, but I’ll give you what advice I can. First, like with so many other things in life, you reap what you sow. If you put a lot of work (see the above lists of additional work beyond posting) into your blog, I think you’ll be happy with the results. Second, write what’s in your heart. When I started this blog, I had a very specific idea of what I was going to write, but I quickly discovered that when I wrote what came naturally to me I was a lot more successful than when I was actively trying to portray something. Third, and most importantly, don’t do what I tell you to do. Read what I’ve written here, read what other bloggers have to say, take it into consideration, but listen to your own voice and follow what it tells you to do. Don’t over-think it, it’s your blog, your thoughts, and your life. The best way to be successful in that is to just be yourself and jump right in, the rest well come.
      If you have any other questions, my email is listed on my profile, feel free to use it.

      Best of luck to you,
      Jessica

  4. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought
    this post was great. I do not know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  1. Pingback: Day 8–Poetic Stresses and Strains | Two Voices, One Song

Leave a Reply

