The Butterfly Effect

Easter has made me think a lot about this concept, specifically the religious implications of this holiday. I am not Christian or any other even remotely related religion. Actually I’m not part of any religion, I have deep spiritual beliefs, but thus far they haven’t lined up with any particular religion well enough for me to “convert” or whatever you want to call it. But I digress. My point is that I’ve been talking a lot about the butterfly effect, the concept that simple, irrelevant actions can later cause drastic, unforeseen results. Which takes me back to Easter, let’s put aside the whole son of God thing for a moment (this is for the purposes of an example only, I am in no way dismissing anyone’s religious beliefs, just making a point) and think for a moment about how the world would be different if the man by the name of Jesus Christ had never walked the Earth. Think how radically and drastically the world would be different. It’s simply unfathomable in so many ways. A single life altered the very course of our history, and provided the foundations for whole civilizations. If that’s not the ultimate example of how the actions of a single person can change the world, I don’t know what is.

                Am I saying that we all have the potential to alter the world quite that much? Well, probably not. But if the actions of one can do that, what about the actions of a few? It’s things like that that keep my hopes alive. Sometimes I’ll eavesdrop on random conversations around me. I’ll be eating and catch a snippet from the table next to me and I’ll tune in or I’ll just hear a flash of something as I walk by. I call it moments of synchronicity, because for a brief moment our paths touched, just a whisper of contact barely noticed. And I wonder is that person the next big business tycoon or maybe the next best-selling author. Maybe I’ll see them on TV one day, demonstrating some great act of kindness or perhaps incredible cruelty. Will our paths touch again someday? Will I even remember them if they do? Maybe ours paths will actually cross next time. Are they going to be just an acquaintance to me or a valued friend? More than anything though I wonder how their story will end. It seems like there aren’t many happily-ever-after’s anymore, but maybe it will be different for them. Maybe they’re one of the few and they’ll know true and lasting happiness in this life. I hope so.

                It amuses me, because I’m not really one of those kinds of people normally. I don’t want to save the world. I just want to make life better for me and mine, make my corner of the world a little brighter. But in that stolen moment, that small window into the life of someone I don’t know and likely will never see again, I feel that I can see them and all those infinite possibilities that could come to life through those small, insignificant acts that they’re making right in that instant. I see it and I know that there is a purpose to life, I don’t know what it is, and I think it’s likely different for everyone, but I know it’s there.

                Two weeks ago I started a blog. Since then I’ve acquired thirty-two followers, over a hundred likes, thirteen comments, and one nomination for an award. I’ve written eighteen posts (not counting this one) and have met a lot of new and interesting people. I don’t what I was expecting when I started this blog, and I don’t know how my stats compare to other new blogs, but I am incredibly pleased with it. By starting this blog I’ve begun my own butterfly effect and I can’t wait to see where it leads me. So thank you all for your support and for reading my strange ramblings, I am honored to be followed by such lovely people. May you all fly high on your own gossamer wings.

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on April 1, 2013, in Full Moon, Howls and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. my chickadee I have nominated you for an award. All details on your award ( the second one) at http://willowdot21.wordpress.com/2013/04/01/double-wammee/ hugs willow. xxxxx

  2. It is amazing how tiny ripples we make spread and spread ! You just keep going , well none of us knows where it will end. 😉

  3. I’m loving the butterfly effect you’re making in this WP community. There’s so much I want to say about what you wrote here but I’m so tired I’m not making sense anymore 😦 Not that I ever make sense. lol This was a REALLY good post and I DO want to take a sec to tell you how much I appreciate your honesty and how you make no apologies for your beliefs and feelings. I applaud you for that. I love that it’s okay to be an individual and that it’s okay for us to learn from each other instead of bashing each other for believing differently than we do. I call myself a Christian but it’s WAY broader than that and too complicated for me to try and explain.. Maybe one day I’ll try. In the end, I think we’re all going to find out that God shows himself with many faces and that there’s one God that we all serve and maybe he/she/it is more than our human brain can wrap our minds around. See, there I’m rambling! lol

    LOVED this! 🙂

    • My beliefs are very important to me, although I have no “religion” my spirituality runs to my core. They had to be, since there was a time when it was all that kept me going. I tend to agree that there is a higher power and that various religions have just interpreted it in different ways. Religious tolerance is definitely one of my core values. I think I would like to hear about your beliefs someday, your interpretation of religion and Christianity is bound to be interesting :).

      • HAHA! Now why would you say that MY views on religion is bound to be interesting? No sarcasm there, eh? lmao I’m an open book so I don’t mind sharing with you one day. It’s pretty wishy washy though and it’s really not all that interesting. I am a Christian in that I believe that Jesus a son of God. I believe that we’re going to find to find out that there might be more people God sent down here to show us how to live. A few years ago, I was a rigid Christian. You had to act a certain way and follow the bible, line for line. I’ve learned that the bible is not all inclusive. There are many books that have not been included and THAT decision was a human decision. Does that make sense? It’s hard to write all that I believe. PLUS, I’m fairly sure I’ll offend people that I respect. But like you said,, I believe in religious tolerance. It’s not for me or for ANYONE to decide what’s right or wrong. That’s God’s decision and he’s the only one who can judge. I can NOT believe he’d create people who are flukes of nature. If they haven’t heard of Christianity, they’re going to hell? I don’t believe that either. If they’re born gay, they’re going to hell? I don’t believe he’d create people this way and then send them to hell. There’s a lot that I don’t believe and lot’s I DO believe.

        It’s a complicated subject, for sure but the important thing is that we believe in something good. I know exactly what you mean when you say that it saved you. There has to be a higher power or what’s this all about. You need to read this book.

        Proof of Heaven by Eben Alexander
        http://www.amazon.com/Princess-Who-Believed-Fairy-Tales/dp/087980436X/ref=sr_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1366425540&sr=1-4&keywords=marcia+powers

        and The Shack
        http://www.amazon.com/Shack-Wm-Paul-Young/dp/160941411X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1366463723&sr=1-1&keywords=the+shack

        I believe along the same lines as these books. God shows himself/herself in many ways and is not limited to our human perception. I could also be considered a pagan in some ways. *shock*

    • Yay! More books! Lady, stop giving me excuses to go by more books! I already buy too many… Well, there’s no such thing as too many books, but still! And I’m never sarcastic, no idea what you’re talking about ;). No, but seriously interesting people tend to have interesting spiritual beliefs. It’s a fact, look it up. I don’t think we would’ve gotten along a few years ago, and that would’ve been a crying shame. I have my own confession to make, I still flinch a little when I hear/see the word Christian. I was raised to view Christians in a certain light and there are, of course, people out there help give it a bad name for me. It’s a knee-jerk reaction. I know better now, and I know that a lot of Christians have very healthy and non-judgmental beliefs, but I’m always a bit wary of it at first. I agree that it doesn’t make sense to condemn people for being who they were made to be, we all have a purpose, and if that purpose isn’t mainstream that’s alright. So long as they harm none, we have no right to judge.

      Pagan! She said pagan! Everyone run for your lives! I had a sort-of friend in high school that was Christian and the look on her face when I told her my beliefs ran close to Paganism was absolutely priceless. Newsflash people, Pagan is NOT code for Satanism, and even that’s misunderstood (or so I’ve heard, I don’t know much about it, I keep wanting to learn more about various religions but I haven’t had the time.). I let her try to convert me for a while, it was amusing.

      • OMG! I knew you felt that way about Christians… you didn’t even have to tell me that. I just keep impressing the crap out of myself for being so intuitive. lamo But seriously, we’re not all that way and some of us even have an open mind. I am judged by other Christians because I retain some of my Catholic beliefs. I believe in the Virgin Mother and although I don’t worship her as a God (as some other Christians believe I do) I DO believe she is the closest person to her son and I will proudly pray the rosary. My husband’s family frowns on that. I think it really may be that I feel so strongly about the virgin mother because she is a woman. Have you heard of Avalon or the lady of the lake? I’m kind of torn between believing in this sort of thing too. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, I can’t tell you here because it would take too lone. But HERE’S one you would dearly love to read if you haven’t already. It’s right up your alley and you wouldn’t be able to put it down. BTW… you cracked me up with your “being a pagan doesn’t mean you’re a satanist”!!!! That was funny bt it’s true… people believe that). I guess I’m just my own person and have my own beliefs that really can’t be labeled.

        The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley

        http://www.amazon.com/THE-MISTS-OF-AVALON/dp/B002ADYFJC/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1366509502&sr=8-4&keywords=the+mist+of+avalon

      • I actually think I started reading that in hs, but I had a short attention span back then and I know I didn’t get anywhere close to finishing. I’ll have to look into it again.
        That is crazy intuitive, looking back I can’t remember saying anything that would give that away… Unless I’m a lot more transparent than I think I am. For obvious reasons I don’t see anything wrong with praying to the Virgin Mary. My personal belief is that the act of praying, or any other form of communication with the divine, has more to do with intent than anything else. The form you use to do that probably says more about you and your beliefs than anything else. I think that everyone who is truly spiritual has there own unique brand of seeing things. Even people who profess to being a certain religion will have there understanding of it. I doubt that any two people have the same beliefs, some are just a bit more different than others, which is why I don’t claim any religion for my own.

Leave a Reply

