Tainted

Today I cried

And watched as trees died

I saw the land torn apart

All for the sake of a greedy heart

 

The young don’t care

Too wrapped up in gadgets

And flashing screens

To even dare

 

My generation is too greedy

Too consumed by their relentless quest

For the power and prestige money can give

To put out a hand for the needy

 

Our parents are too worn

Run down from the pressure

The financial burdens of the last years

To do more than scorn

 

The elderly are too jaded

They’ve seen the world

And know there is nothing to be done

What comes next is fated

 

Today I cried

And watched as trees died

I saw the river run dry

All for luxury, done on the sly

 

                Some days I become disgusted with society and all that it stands for. This is one of those days. This poem is inspired from real events in my life today. My family and I live in Florida for the moment, in the middle of a large city, but in a small area where everyone has a few acres of land. When we bought the house and the land we had to sign a lot of paperwork stating that we wouldn’t touch the wetlands on our property as part of conservation acts to preserve that particular. Our neighbor apparently has no issues breaking that particular contract and has spent the whole of this day cutting down the wetland trees on his property, filling in the river that flows from his land to ours, and who knows what else. This is also the neighbor that routinely shoots raccoons in his backyard because he claims that they try to break into house at night. My family’s house would be very easy for raccoons to break into, but they never have. Why? Because we seal the dog food into containers, our neighbors leave theirs out in the open. Of course they have raccoons trying to break into their house.

                This is one of things that really, really bothers me about our society. People make absolutely no attempt to coexist with the world around them. He wants a pretty landscaped yard, why? It was beautiful as it was. Besides he has plenty of land that isn’t covered in wetlands. Why can’t he use that? How much effort would it take him to seal up the dog food so it doesn’t attract raccoons that he feels obligated to kill? For some strange, unfathomable reason people tend to immediately go to the quickest, most violent solution for any problems. Generally there’s more peaceful, longer-lasting alternatives if people are willing to spend a few minutes to look into it.

                And now for my next little tirade which I will begin with a quote from what one of my top favorite movies: “We must all fear evil men, but there is another kind of evil which we must fear most and that is the indifference of good men.” – The Boondock Saints.

                I believe that our world has become deeply tainted by the actions of a greedy few, but I believe the majority of people are decent. Maybe not “good”, but at least decent. The problem is they don’t care and they don’t want to get involved. The world has become the way it is because we allow it be this way. It goes back to the butterfly effect that I talked about yesterday, a few small actions can cascade into something much larger.

        I’m not saying I want people to go out and protest, or that they should go to third-world countries and help the various causes there, or even volunteer. All I am saying is that people need to try to make the world a little in their own spheres. For pity’s sake just try making improvements in your own lives. Try to develop a more active lifestyle, exercise in some way, connect with nature, eat right (people have no earthly idea how honestly delicious real food is, because they’re too busy eating boxed, canned, and frozen processed crap that has pounds of sugar dumped into it), try developing deeper bonds with your friends, find new ways to interact with your pet, garden, read a book, take a class, develop a hobby. Or even just spend some time getting to know yourself, mediate, free write, I don’t care just do something. To many people don’t know who they are, they just wander around like lost sheep, never entirely sure of where they’re going or why they want to get there. All these things will make you a happier. Money won’t make you happy, and I’m not in any way rich so I’m not saying false words, being the CEO of a billion dollar company won’t either. Having deep, meaningful bonds with the people in our lives is what makes us happy. Being true to our beliefs, values, and personal code of honor makes us happy. Being connected with the natural world makes us happy. And what is the point of life if not to find happiness? If even a quarter of us stood up for all the things we believe in the world would be a very different place.

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on March 30, 2013, in Natural Laws, Wolfsong and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have written numerous posts on this subject so I totally agree with what you are saying. All it takes for evil to win is for a few good men to do nothing.

  2. This is really deep…

    I have just nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award: http://learus.wordpress.com/2013/03/31/very-humbled-honored-and-most-of-all-inspired/

    Thank you for being an inspiration! 🙂

    • … I’m drawing a blank here, so I’ll just say that I’m honored beyond words. I think inspirational is probably the highest compliment for a post I can think of. Your blog is really fascinating and well written, so it means a lot to me to be nominated for something like this by you. Thank you. I’ll follow those instructions first thing tomorrow, when I’m less dead :).

Leave a Reply

