Magic

                I believe in magic. Let me tell you what I mean by that. When most people think of magic they think of conjured elements and summoned creatures, spells and potions, transformations and alchemy. In short they think of spectacular and dramatic events. Whether that form of magic exists at all, well I’ve never seen it, but I am not so arrogant to discount anything on the basis of my experience of the world. The magic I have seen and experienced has been far more subtle, but infinitely more complex and beautiful as any cinematic display.

                To me life, that essence, that spirit within every living thing, is magic. It’s terribly ironic because I’m a staunch believer in evolution, or at least my understanding of evolution, but I have never believed that what gives us life is a conglomeration of cells, no matter how specialized and diverse, nor have I ever believed that the world and the living beings upon are a result of chance. The odds are simply too long for me.

                I watch a lot of nature documentaries and in all honesty I’ve spent my entire life studying the natural world. Admittedly, twenty-one years isn’t all that long a time, but still. There was a time in my childhood that I thought that humans knew everything there was to know about the world and the creatures that live upon. At that age, with all the books and movies available to me, the sheer scale of knowledge was overwhelming. But as I got older and started assimilating knowledge faster and faster, I realized that we didn’t know nearly as much as I thought we did. In truth we know very little about our world and even less about the other living beings that inhabit it.

                They say that the human brain is the most advanced and complex thing in the known universe, but I disagree. I believe that the ecosystem of our planet as a whole is the most complex. It’s the butterfly effect. A single insignificant event anywhere on the world has profound effect on the whole planet. It’s just not possible to affect a part without affecting the whole.

                Such an intricately designed organism is not a matter of chance or coincidence. It’s something that we’re just beginning to understand and something I don’t think we’ll ever understand in full. How can we? Our world is ever changing and we’ll never be able to keep up. How can we declare truth with only pieces of the puzzle? How can we judge the consciousness of other living beings when we understand so little about their real lives? It’s part of the reason why I’ve turned away from a career in science and why I’ve turned to writing. Something else I consider magical. We need more magic, mystery, and wonder not less. 

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on March 29, 2013, in Full Moon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I agree there is so much that we will never understand in this world. I also agree that we will be able to sepaate from the whole.

Leave a Reply

