You Hurt Me

You hurt me again today, just as you did yesterday. It’s all right, I know you didn’t mean to. You’re hurt and sometimes you lash out, but it doesn’t mean anything. I love you. Please love me.

You hurt me deeper today; it feels like my soul is bleeding. It’s all right, I know that pain is a part of life and you’re just teaching me how to deal with it. Life isn’t fair. Fairness is an illusion for the weak. You taught me that and look how well I’ve learned. I love you. Do you love me?

You hurt me harshly today, the scars on my soul are beginning to blend together now, and I can hardly see them anymore. It’s all right; the pain is making me grow stronger. I’m beginning to break, I can the rifts within my mind, but I’ll never let it show. Not when you might see it, not when the world is watching. I’ll prove to you I can handle it and my endurance will demonstrate my worth. I love you. If I keep proving it maybe you’ll love back.

You hurt me cruelly today, and I feel like I’m dying a little each day. It’s not all right, there is no excuse. I won’t let your break me, not my core. You can’t touch me, because you’ve forced me to be stronger than you ever were. I can repair the damage you have wrought. I am who I am and that is exactly who I’m supposed to be. I won’t let you change me. I love you, but now I hate you too. And I know that you never loved me.

You can’t hurt me today, and you never will again.

A short flash fiction from the shadowy corners of the world. We all want that connection to other people, want to feel that sense of belonging and love. It’s often much harder than people realize to see a toxic relationship when you’re in one, but eventually it becomes too obvious to ignore. Don’t let it reach that point. Bless be.

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on March 27, 2013, in Natural Laws, Wildfire and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

