Different

This is a poem that just jumped out at me as I sat down to write my post for the night. I’m not sure what inspired it. This is Different.

 

If I told you

That I was different

Would you believe me?

 

If I told you

I see the world through acid rain

And shattered glass

Would you be willing to look?

 

What if I said

That my life was forfeit long ago

And that I thrive on borrowed time

Would you understand?

 

How about if I mentioned

That pain had long ago become my friend

And loneliness my companion

Would you still be able to look at me?

 

I told you I was different

And you said you understood

But the wildness runs close to the surface in me

And your words proved empty

 

You left me

And proved once again

How different I truly am

But I’d rather be different

Than to be like you

 

Sometimes being normal isn’t a good thing. I am somewhat shamed to say I almost forgot that once, I’ll try not to do so again.

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on March 25, 2013, in In the Pack, Wolfsong and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. how very true that is, you really must be true to yourself.

    • I work very hard at being that way. To be honest it’s probably the top priority in my life. People don’t seem to realize that having a good, healthy relationship with yourself requires just as much time, effort, and respect as having good, healthy relationships with anyone else. People that lie to you cannot be trusted, so if you lie to yourself where does that leave you? If you don’t trust, love, and respect yourself then you can’t trust, love, or respect anyone else either. Sorry, my replies are always too long.

Leave a Reply

