The Croods

Plot: Four Moons

The plot was honestly quiet good, especially considering the genre. I enjoyed how they tied in the natural history of humans into this story. The menagerie of strange creatures was definitely a treat and something that always adds a lot of brownie points for me. I cried a little near the end, which I’m going to blame on hormones, but there was certainly some good, intense scenes near the end. The end really saved the plot in my opinion, if they had made it less intense I think it would have ended up being too kiddy for me. This movie really got me thinking what it would be like to live during a period of continental drift on steroids, it was really quite thought provoking in that way.

 

Setting: Five Moons

If Avatar and How to Tame Your Dragon had a baby, this would be it. You’ve got the basic style from How to Tame Your Dragon and all the color and fantasy of Avatar. I loved, loved, loved all the different creatures in this movie and they were all well thought out. (I really loved the literal elephant shrews J).

 

Characters: Three Moons

The characters were a bit simplistic for me, How to Tame Your Dragon certainly did a better job with that, and the dialogue could have been better. The characters were interesting enough to be invested, but not enough to really fall in love with them. Definitely the weakest part of the movie.

 

Overall I really enjoyed this movie and I would recommend it to any fan of fantasy. It’s certainly a movie worth seeing in 3D. 

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on March 24, 2013, in Starlight and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

