Pack

You are ours. When we call you will come. When we hunt you will run with us. When we face our enemies you will fight with us. When we are threatened you will kill for us. When we sing you will raise your voice with us. When we mourn you will shed your tears for us.

We are yours. When you call we will be there. When you need we will provide. When you bleed we will rally to you. When you die we will avenge you. When you are victorious we will celebrate with you. When you cry we will hold you.

We walk together on this earth. When our eyes meet we know each other. We are bonded in spirit and blood. Together we can overcome any challenge. Together we can withstand any hardship. Together we are unstoppable. We are Pack and our bonds can never be broken.

There have only ever been four categories of people in my world. People: anyone whose name I do not know. Acquaintances: anyone whose name I know, and who I have semi-frequent contact with. Family: the people that I love and resent in near equal portions. Pack: explained above.

An astute reader might have noticed that there is a category missing from my list, namely the one that should be labeled Friends. My Pack-mate, whom we will call Hope, recently tried to explain the concept of friendship to me. I didn’t understand. If a deep, meaningful bond with the person doesn’t seem likely I don’t see the purpose of trying to cultivate a relationship with them. I think that most people take relationships too casually, that they don’t really try to understand each other, and that these “friendships” are just relationships of convenience. I just don’t get the point of that. Call it a personal flaw.

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on March 22, 2013, in In the Pack, Wildfire and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

