Solar Puppets

          At some point, a very long time ago, I realized something that would later shape how I saw the world. The world is divided by day and night and people, places, and situations are often transformed by the rise and fall of the sun. With each sunrise people prepare to meet the world, they put on their masks, real and imagined, and plan out their days. As the sun rises higher people begin an elaborate dance around one another, all of them trying to portray some message, through their bearing, attitude, and actions, to their dance partners. Many will try to get others to follow their tune, but nearly as many will end up falling in line to someone else’s without ever realizing it. It becomes a web of lies, half-truths, omissions, and any number of other deceptions both large and small. It’s a tangled, nasty mess that I’ve always despised. Then the sun begins to fall and bit by bit the masks fall away, people quit posturing, and the truth slowly unfolds.

                By sunset the majority have retreated to their own homes. They begin to act as they truly are or, more commonly, the person that the constant deceptions have turned them into. The cracks begin to show and people start to lash out, pressured beyond bearing by the false life they lead. The veils are stripped away and the truth revealed. I enjoy that, not because it’s a pleasant thing to see, but because for a few brief moments you can see the reality of people. The truth is a double-edged blade, and it hurts more often than not, but for me it’s always been worth it in the end.

                But by far my favorite part of the night is when full dark takes over and the moon rises high. Then the human world sleeps. People go to their beds and turn out the lights. The clamor of day dies away and the harsh lights go out. The world becomes peaceful, silent, and still. People don’t value silence nearly as much as they should. The vast majority of my personal revelations and epiphanies came in silence (or the closest I could get to it, which was often blasting music to drown out the noise). I learned to love the silence of the night. Those few blessed moments of peace when no one expected or demanded anything from me. The night became my sanctuary.

                People lie by day, hoping everyone will be blinded by the light, but such things are stripped away by moonlight. I think it’s important that people remember that. Deception, like all things, demands a cost. People need to be careful that they don’t run up their tally too high and end up paying with their souls. Being true to yourself, your values, and your beliefs is the most important thing anyone can do for themselves. If there has ever been a moral code to which I abide, it begins and ends there. Where does your moral code begin and end? Do you have one rule that can sum up the rest of them? I think it’s important to be able to answer those questions. Until next time, goodnight.

About jessicanix

I am a college student that loves everything about the written word. Stories and poetry are my mediums of choice and, with a little luck, I can show you why. Come visit me at Shadowed in Moonlight.

Posted on March 19, 2013, in In the Pack and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I like your vision which I do agree with but I see it as a wheel. As one man rises another on the opposite side of the world goes to sleep. So it goes on turning. One up one down. All in perfect balance..

Leave a Reply

